2 moms. 3 kids. 1 amazing adventure.

Scrapbook Night!

Oooohhhh, I am so excited!

Tonight I get to get out of the house…alone…to do one of my favorite things.  Tonight I get to scrapbook!

My New Year’s resolution this past January was to attend a crop at the local scrapbook store once a month since I never seem to find the time to scrapbook at home.  I’m really proud of myself for sticking with this resolution.  I haven’t missed a month yet.

I usually attend with a couple of friends from work, but there have been a couple of times that no one was able to attend with me.  That’s not my cup of tea–being in a crowd alone.  Even though it’s the sort of thing that is really hard for me, I went.  Alone.  And had a grand time.  Tonight, though, I get to catch up with a friend to hear all about her recent trip to Australia.  And see her gorgeous photos.  And imagine my own dream vacation.

Scrapbooking is my therapy.  My first bachelor’s degree is in art therapy, so I have a long history of understanding that I NEED to create to figure out my inner workings and to sort out the constant flow of jumbled thoughts that run through my brain.  Scrapbooking has become that art.

My process is slow and tedious.  I think and plan and arrange and rearrange.  I ponder what will be just the right color combination or just the right embellishment.  It used to drive me crazy that I was so blasted slow.  In several hours, I’d see my friends get many, many pages done and I’d be lucky–very lucky– to finish three.  My process would be interrupted by thoughts about never getting caught up with all the photos I want to make pages for.

I worked really, REALLY hard at letting that go.  I’ve come to a place where I understand that it is what it is.  My creative process won’t change because it is exactly how my brain needs it to be.  You know, to get that other therapeutic work done, too.  I’ve learned to be happy content with the fact that my kids will have some scrapbook pages to take when I’m dead and gone and a lot of pictures to print and put into photo albums :).

My current favorite is this one that I made in May:

                  

Time shall tell whether I arrive home at midnight tonight with a new favorite or not.  It’s hard to say.  I’m taking some great pictures with me, but this page is looking pretty hard to beat!  It’s that picture and the quote.  They melt me every time!

Comments on: "Scrapbook Night!" (2)

  1. […] favorite is still this one, though.  I just love everything about […]

  2. Love the pages.
    I too use scrapbooking as a way to get out of the house and away from my kids…..errr…I mean…to let my artistic energy flow. And I too spend HOURS getting maybe 3-4 pages done.
    The arranging and rearranging aren’t my biggest issue. It’s getting the paper together. The colors and patterns and backgrounds.

    Sorry to go off on my issues with art and scrapbooking. I LOVE the pages and more than that I love the little poem part that you wrote and tucked in under the picture. Very sweet.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

