2 moms. 3 kids. 1 amazing adventure.

Balance

Last year, for the first time, I participated in the One Little Word Project. I’m not a huge fan of resolutions, but this seemed doable. Basically, you choose one word to focus and guide you throughout the year. Ideally, you listen to yourself and the world around you and let your word find you. My word last year was balance.

I worked toward finding a better work-family balance and I focused on balancing my needs with those of everyone else in my family. I needed to stop putting myself dead last.

In July, I took a voluntary lay-off from my teaching position. I start a new, part-time job next week that seems like a great fit for my skills and for our family’s schedule needs. I’m excited about the position and about this new, healthier balance.

I made a committment last January to go to scrapbooking once a month with two co-workers–something just for myself.  I am proud to say that I went every single month of the year. Once, I even had to go alone. That’s not my thing, but I did it. And I enjoyed myself, too. I didn’t set any specific goals about how many pages I would get done because I didn’t want the pressure (and I know I am painfully slow in my creative process!). Out of curiosity, I counted last night: Twenty-eight 12×12 pages. One 8×8 A-Z Vacation book (27 pages). Six pages of a 12-month baby album for a soon-to-be new mom (my co-scrapbooker/friend and I alternated creating pages–I didn’t just give K a half-finished book! :)).

But most importantly, I found balance.

These are some of my favorite pages from the year:

My favorite is still this one, though.  I just love everything about it.  🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

